Josh at Piano jazz alley.jpg


Josh Nelson's very best 


unnamed copy.jpg

The Sky Remains

2017. The Sky Remains is Josh’s love letter to Los Angeles. The third in his Discovery Project series, it unearths hidden gems and little-known stories about the composer’s hometown. Features guitarist Anthony Wilson and vocalist Kathleen Grace.

Featuring: Josh Nelson (piano), Kathleen Grace (vocals), Lillian Sengpiehl (vocals), Anthony Wilson (guitar/co-producer), Chris Lawrence (trumpet/flugelhorn), Josh Johnson (alto sax/flute), Alex Boneham (bass), Dan Schnelle (drums), Aaron Serfaty (percussion), Larry Goldings (B3 organ) 

Purchase CD | Digital Download

Spotify | Amazon


Dream in the Blue


2016. Josh's long collaboration with vocalist Sara Gazarek has resulted in an intimate and beautiful duo project, featuring soulful cover tunes and new original music. Recorded and produced by the legendary Al Schmitt. 


Purchase Vinyl | Purchase CD

Spotify | Amazon



Exploring Mars


2015. Josh Nelson’s sixth recording as a leader, and second in the Discovery Project series, where he ambitiously explores themes on the red planet with a stellar band.


Featuring: Josh Nelson (piano, Nord Electro 3 HP, trumpet), John Daversa  (trumpet and EVI), Larry Koonse (guitar), Dave Robaire (bass), Dan Schnelle (drums), Alan Ferber (trombone), Brian Walsh (bass clarinet), Kathleen Grace (vocals)





2011. Josh’s first album in The Discovery Project series, inspired by themes from science and science fiction. A musical look into the world of science fiction, early cinema, and inventors. Nostalgia meets modern on this inspired recording.

Featuring: Josh Nelson (piano), Dontae Winslow (trumpet/flugelhorn), Alan Ferber (trombone/arranger) Brian Walsh (bass clarinet), Larry Koonse (guitar), Dave Robaire (bass), Dan Schnelle (drums), Vanessa Robaire (vocals) 

Digital Download

Spotify | Amazon



I Hear a Rhapsody


2009. Josh's fourth album as a leader, strong statement of melodies, arrangements and virtuosic performances by a young all-star band.

Featuring: Josh Nelson (piano, Rhodes, background vocals), Ben Wendel (tenor sax/bassoon), Tom Catanzaro (tenor sax), Charles Altura (guitar), Hamilton Price, Sam Minaie (bass), Kevin Kanner, Zach Harmon (drums)

Digital Download

Spotify | Amazon


NLM0969cover copy.jpg

let it go


2006. Josh’s exciting debut album from 2006, featuring jazz greats Seamus Blake, Anthony Wilson, and Matt Wilson. 

Featuring:  Josh Nelson (piano, rhodes, B3 organ), Seamus Blake (tenor sax), Anthony Wilson (guitar), Darek Oles (bass), Matt Wilson (drums), Sara Gazarek (vocals on “Leaving Here”), Erik Kertes (co-producer)

Purchase CD | Digital Download

Spotify | Amazon